Weekly Band Biography – Modest Mouse

In my opinion one of the most original bands still writing today, is Modest Mouse. The indie-rock band was formed in Issaquah, Washington in 1993. The band’s lead singer Isaac Brock came from an interesting background. After dropping out of school Isaac began home-recording, and listening to his favorite band The Pixies, basically he spent a lot of time alone thinking and writing. Eventually Isaac recruited drummer Jeremiah Green, and bassist Eric Judy, to complete what he began musically. Later Modest Mouse went through some member changes.

Modest Mouse released there first EP, Blue Cadet-3, Do you Connect, At Dub Narcotic Studios. This EP is just one of many singles and EPs released by the band. It wasn’t until 1996 that the bands first full length album was released. This is a Long Drive for Someone with Nothing to Think About. This album has songs such as; “Exit Does Not Exist, Space Travel is Boring, and Breakthrough.” The album is great, but Modest Mouse didn’t breakthrough until 1997, with the album The Lonesome Crowded West. With the release the band manged to form a cult following, The Lonesome Crowded West, is considered to be one of the defining albums of the mid-90s indie rock scene.

More albums were released, and Modest Mouse began to write albums that were well received by the music industry. The Moon & Antarctica, and album on Epic Records, received a 9.8 out of 10 Rating from Pitchfork Media. Sometime in 2003 the band got a make-over. Losing old members, and gaining new. Isaac Brock was now grouped with Benjamin Weikel , and Dann Gallucci, and in April 2004, the hit album Good News for People Who Love Bad News. Many listeners favorate songs “Float On” and “Ocean Breathes Salty” are featured. They are featured playing these songs on Saturday Night Live. The album itself Was nominated for a Grammy for Best Alternative Rock Album.

The success continues with the release of We Were Dead Before the Ship Even Sank, in 2006. With hit songs “Dashboard” and “Missed the Boat” as well as “We’ve Got Everthing”. The album easily reached number one on Us Billboard 200 charts. The band toured North America for two years promoting the record.

Modest Mouse has gone through many changes through the years the current members are; Issaac Brock, Jeremiah Green, Joe Plummer, and Tom Peloso. With 9 albums and almost 20 singles, and EPs, Modest Mouse has captured the hearts of millions. They combine Rock and philosophy, to create amazing, and original music.
For a Full discography check this site out! http://www.discogs.com/artist/Modest+Mouse

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s